Dollars and divorce stats

Well, the painful part of it is over for dear hubby, the money part of course.  He hasn’t been sleeping well and he’s showing signs of stress ie. a cold sore.  He has me on a standing order to chant for his company stock to go up.  He is actually keeping a running tab on our family creating endeavours. Oh, man!  Not a good idea.  But this is what he does.  And by the way, we just reviewed the mountain of bureaucracy  and $$$ that faces us still.  I may have drive to the border, catch a plane, spend an extended time in the States and then fly back to said border and drive across.  On second thought, I need to get another job.

I have suggested productive ways to manage his stress.  Yoga and chanting do not appeal to him.  So sad.  I’m finding my hot yoga to be a huge stress reliever.  I have missed a couple of sessions though.  I’ve been busy attending to a friend who’s husband asked her for a divorce a few days ago.  After 16 years of marriage.  You know, this just happened to another friend of mine earlier this year.  I could identify with what she’s going through somewhat.  She’s in shock and wondering how she could just undo what she heard.  Yeaaah…. had that feeling before a couple years ago.  I just advised her to do absolutely nothing for a couple of weeks, make no major decisions as she can’t even begin to process the news.  I know that desperate feeling when your world has been spun off its axis and the one person you thought you could rely on, has found you lacking.

I’ve only heard one side of things, of course, and given that I know both people, it’s not  unbelievable, but still  – divorce sucks.    I was given a chance to address issues in our marriage, but she didn’t have that opportunity and I fear that it’s too late for them to recover what they once shared.  That is just plain sad.  I am really, really worried about her.

Last night, I got another email from one of my husband’s friend’s announcing her divorce.  Sigh. This time there is a child involved.   Yeah, I don’t know about you but I’m hoping that wind doesn’t blow my way.

More yoga please.

5 thoughts on “Dollars and divorce stats

  1. Okay ya scared me. I had to quickly read cause for a moment I thought you were hinting you were getting a divorce. SCARED me!
    I can’t wait for you to have that bouncing baby of your dreams!

  2. Dh also kept a running tab when we wee in treatment. We bailed out before the numbers got too horribly scary but they were in five figures, and didn’t include stuff like subway tokens to the clinic, etc. My workplace medical plan had a lifetime cap on the injectable meds — funny, I don’t remember now what it was, but it wasn’t much — I think I went through it in about one week.

    Sorry to hear about your friends’ divorces. I’ve had a few close friends & relatives go through it & it is not for the faint of heart, even when the couple manages to maintain some civility between them. 😦

  3. Divorce is a scary thing. Especially when it hits so close to home. I hope your friends find comfort in your words.

    I like your new bloghouse. I am glad I can follow down this road with you through your words.
    *HUGS*

  4. Being in the middle of one myself I feel for your friend. I was blind sided and he refuses to try anything to fix the things he finds wrong with me after 22yrs. 😦

    Good advice about do nothing for a few weeks, she’ll emerge from zombie mode and then needs to be guided to take care of herself.

Leave a Reply

