A lovely visit

As usual, getting together with Annacyclopedia was a delight!  Pretty much like her lovely baby.  I gave him a hard stare and he turned away all bashful but it’s hard not to look at the fruits of our pursuits.  Did he know that I had been waiting for his creation?  Anticipating his arrival?  I suppose when he’s 16, he still won’t give a rat’s ass, but when his mother tells him about her blog (that is, if she doesn’t delete it from cyberspace), that he will be embarrassed.  But when he’s 36, he might really think it’s cool to know his mum and dad moved heaven and earth to bring him to their hearts.

She came bearing food items (thank goodness cause I hadn’t eaten anything yet) and it was a little hard to look gracious while throwing food down my craw. Oddly enough I was scrambling to make carrot/ginger soup (cause I had an extra 5 minutes that morning but discovered the ginger was moldy) and Anna had brought carrot/ginger soup!   My bundle of joy  sleepily greeted her, ignored his older and wiser friend and then finally decided to take a little snooze.  Did you know that our babes were born in the same month – her’s at the beginning and mine at the end?  At one point, tears sprang to my eyes because I had prayed for her son and she had prayed for mine – thousands of miles apart.  I can’t believe she’s not in my neighbourhood, but at least we connected.

After we babbled on about the babies politely, we got down to the heart of the matter of womanhood vs. motherhood.  That was enlightening.  Anna pointed out that society always pushed aside the needs and feelings of women when it comes to their children.  We are supposed to sacrifice our comfort, our desires, our SELVES, because that is BEST FOR THE BABY.  It doesn’t matter if you’re in pain from breastfeeding, keep QUIET about it.  Don’t complain, just do it cause it is for the baby.  Not much too that broken glass in your milk ducts feeling anyway.  Oh, you ripped down there in your hooha?!  Oh, they do that in some countries all the time as  rite of womanhood.  Sh! Pipe down, look at the cute baby!    And if you’re having a problem, buy this book, product, toy, expensive organic bib!!!!! If they can come up with a no scalpel vasectomy and a virtually pain free circumcision (numbing creme, shots, tylenol, and a grape flavoured sugar cube), why can’t they do better for women with blocked milk ducts than tell them to take a HOT BATH!

Just saying. More later.

6 thoughts on “A lovely visit

  1. Wow, sounds like a great conversation. I would have loved to have been there.

    (Carrot ginger soup???…hmmmm, I may have to look that one up 🙂

  2. How wonderful!! This post made me feel warm all over. How great that you got to connect and that you have been with each other through your individial journeys and can now embrace the fruits of your labor.

  3. I’m glad you got to spend mom time with another mom. You guys tried for those babies and won!

    I like the Organic Cashew, Carrot& Ginger soup they have in the carton in the store. Yummy

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog I really appreciate it.

    I have to be honest I’ve never tried Carrot and Ginger soup! I will definitely have to try before I can give any comments on this one.

    Stopping by for ICLW

  5. Sounds like a fabulous time. Reading about it brought up a lot of thoughts about the silencing of women, that I should let sit a bit more before I spout them off. 🙂

Leave a Reply

