Weekend fun

Had an awesome weekend doing a scene study workshop.  I was pretty nervous, it was hard enough trying to memorize my scene when the only spare time I had was walking with the Precious and Juno.  Yet I did better than I thought I would and by the time Sunday rolled around, well, I nailed it.  The acting coach loved it!

That meant it was DH and the little one all weekend.  And guess what, he didn’t shower.  Mmmmm.  See honey?  Not so frigging easy is it? What, no dinner waiting for me?  I had a working holiday so to speak, and I loved every second of it.  Heck, sure I missed the little guy, but I did get to spend a little time with him before bedtime.

Okay, I have a question.  DH decided not to swaddle his legs(cause he kicks his way out of it anyway) and the little angel woke up at 5am, cooing and babbling away.  Not my shift, honey, too bad.  Then the next night he was up twice.  On my shift.  He hasn’t done that since he was 1 month old.  The 1st time, I fed him  a little bit, he didn’t seem too hungry, just awake. I didn’t talk to him or look at him too much, didn’t turn on the light.  It’s not playtime, buddy, it’s sleepy time.  And as luck would have, our building seemed to be out of hot water, so I had to boil water first to warm up his bottle (all the better to make him sleepy).  I put him down 40 minutes later and he talked himself to sleep.  The 2nd time at 4:45 am he was crying and hungry.  I fed him a full bottle, changed him and all was well til 8am.  Now my question is this, what the heck is up with this change?  Is it time for rice cereal? I tried to give him some this morning, he was not impressed, though he was quite enamoured with the spoon.  So it is the late napping?  Formula issues?  Any hints out there?  Have the days of my peacefully sleeping baby come to an end?

7 thoughts on “Weekend fun

  1. what is this peacefully sleeping baby thing you speak of? I know nothing of it.

    baby J has only slept through the night longer than 6 hrs at once about a handful of times. she did it 2 nts in a row at 14 wks then not again for 3 months, then not much at all. she has always wanted to wake a feed, for comfort or hunger I’m not sure, maybe both.

    but she did start teething at 4.5 months and nothing was ever the same after that. crazy howling at night, poor thing, until we figured out the right regimen of herbal therapies and tylenol or motrin (not on an empty stomach) just to help her sleep.

    you’ll know if he’s ready for solids if he’s checking out your food. baby J was reaching for ours at 5 months and we started a few weeks later.

    • Holy cow – my guy crows at night but he’s not in pain. In fact, he seems rather delighted with himself. I think it might be time to load up on some homeopathic remedies for teething anyway. Since he’s not eating the rice cereal, I may just try again in a little while. I’m thinking it may be late napping, but stay tuned……

  2. wake to feed, duh.

    btw, is he tugging at his ears? drooling? gnawing on his hands? are his gums swollen? those are some teething signs. you can try the gel stuff to see if that works before loading him with meds.

  3. It could be anything. Could be the lack of swaddling or could be cold or hungry or teeth, etc., etc. They like to keep us guessing. Hopefully whatever is causing the waking will be short lived. My 20 month old hasn’t slept all night in months and I have no idea why.

  4. I have no baby advice for you. 🙂

    The working holiday sounds fabulous. So glad you enjoyed it and got a little break.

  5. A little late to the game here, but when in doubt, I always think it is hunger. I put a little bit of the *cereal in the bottle (did have to take a pin and make the bottle hole just a little bit bigger)and the added calories seemed to do the trick for my boys.

    *we are not talking paste thickness here, just enough to add some calories;)

Leave a Reply

