Sleepy mummy

Thank you for the input – it really helps.  My little guy was an EXCELLENT sleeper/napper.  Until a few days ago. I went back to swaddling his legs as he is quite the kicker.   Okay, so he is waking up all happy and babbling and crowing, yes he CROWS (AH  WOO!) – at 3am!  We listened to him on the monitor – he went on for an HOUR.  Then up again at 4:30am, not so happy, but not terribly miserable either. I changed his diaper, it had leaked a little but it wasn’t full –  fed him a couple of ounces of formula and held and cuddled him, then put him back down, still awake but quiet.  I turned down the heat in his room, it seemed too warm; I always wake up when I’m too hot as well.  He went back to crowing however.  I had to turn off the monitor so we could get a little sleep.  Frankly, I can hear him from down the hall just fine without the amplification. I got up at 7:20 and he was happily babbling and waiting for me, all smiles.

Tried to give him some rice cereal yesterday morning.  He ended up with most of it on his face.  He liked the spoon but not the food.  Tried again this morning and he wasn’t having it.  I thought at first maybe he wasn’t getting enough food and that’s why he was waking up, but now I’m thinking he’s going to bed too early.  So I guess it’s experimentation time.  I’ll be watching the teething situation  – I’ll stock up on the homeopathic remedy just in case – fiddle with the nap and bedtime hours and see if I can’t bring us back our peaceful nights.

Now where’s my Red Bull?

4 thoughts on “Sleepy mummy

  1. Just when you think you’ve got it down, right? Tulip is 7 weeks and it seems that each week has brought major changes, of course. But the sleep one–that one I would be working hard to fix too! I’ll be checking back for advice when I find myself in the same situation!

    Happy ICLW!

  2. So your kidlet must be around 6 months? Theo hated rice cereal so don’t be deterred! I ousted it and moved to oat cereal with banana. As for sleeping, that wide awake middle of the night thing is a killah! I think it takes a few more months before they settle into a good long night of sleeping (and that’s with a bit of coaxing… ;).

  3. I think until about 6 months, they are still trying to find their rhythm. When my first was 6 months, I asked the doctor how often he should actually still be waking at night to be fed. He looked at me, like I had a third eye in the middle of my forehead, and asked me if I would like it if during the night someone would hold me and give me food. Yeah, he was a smartass. He was a firm believer in the cry it out week. If your little guy seems happy, and is babbling vs screaming bloody murder, let him entertain himself. (But, I still would jack up his calories before bed 😉

Leave a Reply

