Keeping it real

I’ve been trying to get some pictures printed for weeks so I set out for an out of the way drugstore because it was close to a dog park.  That way the dog could have a little fun, I could get to the drugstore, sit down at that stupid photo computer thing and get the damn pics.  Of course en route I ran into one of the workers at my mother’s care home who just had to visit with my cute kid, and then my old nutritionist and her boyfriend at the dog park.  I had a moment of omigod, she still smoking hot and I’m still hot but not so svelte anymore.  She does the nutrition plans for the Last 10 Pound Bootcamp show on Slice TV.  She is a lovely, warm young woman and I’d kill to be have her figure.  Why do I always do that to myself?  It’s like a knee-jerk reaction I have to put myself down.  I felt like a bad student, oh, I’m sorry Miss Nutritionist, I’ve been a  bad girl and eaten my way out of my Lululemons.  She tried to make me feel better by saying, oh, but you had a kid and of course, I couldn’t let the baby take the hit for me on that one and told her he was adopted.  Yup.  I could kick myself.  I seriously have to stop doing that.  Now if my self consciousness would actually motivate me to do something about it….. ah, fuck it.  Shut up Superwoman, I can’t hear you – LALALALA!

I finally make it to the drugstore and you know who starts getting cranky.  When I finally make it back home, I feed the kid, feed the dog,  bathe him and he conks out. Mission accomplished and he’s down for a nap earlier rather than later.  He woke up last night but cackled to himself for about 20 min then went back to sleep.  So he was up in the morning at his usual time.  Good job!

Now of course, it’s obvious he needs quality nap time.  This means I have to avoid keeping him up by hauling him in and out of the car or stroller as I try to get other things done. It results in him taking a late afternoon nap and hence he’s not so damn sleepy at 3am.  Am I over thinking this?  Who knows,by next week, I’m sure it will be something else.   Oh, well, it’s funny what I’ll do to get a good night’s sleep, eh?  Once I even tried pinning up a sheet to the blinds (hubby went away and that was the night he decided to wake up crying) so maybe he’d give me an extra half hour in the morning …. nope, didn’t work.  I love that kid.  Keeping it real.

5 thoughts on “Keeping it real

  1. At nine months, for some odd reason, all my boys decided that sleeping was for wimps. I had to readjust all the napping and ended up with a morning nap then *tried* to keep them awake through the afternoon. Not an easy task when they are so young.

    When they were older (1 1/2 ish) I remember having a huge fight with hubby about putting the boys to bed too early. They had “given up” naps and by 6:30-7 they were cranky, whiny, and I was exhausted. Many nights they were in bed by 7:15. They got up early, but those quiet 2 hours at night, before I crashed, were like heaven.

    Just follow your instincts. You know his moods, and needs. And yes, by next week it will be something else 🙂

  2. So I’m not the only one who looks at other people and thinks that? BTW, when we met, I was jealous of how great you look.

    I wish I had some sleeping tricks but I had a baby that NEVER slept and rarely napped longer than 45min. I was a very tired mommy. What I have found now however is that the better nap MG has in the early afternoon, the better she sleeps at night. However, her nap MUST be done by 2:30pm or I’m hooped and she’ll be awake until 10pm.

  3. Lately I have been so down on myself for not accomplishing anything near my goal weight just a little over two weeks shy of my 40th birthday. Last night I was at the mall trying to find something to wear to a fundraising event tonight and I saw a girl much heavier than me wearing a sleeveless blouse- chubby, exposed, white arms flapping away. I thought “I would never wear that but she is heavier than me and is wearing it with such confidence” and for the first time, instead of mentally trashing someone for wearing something that wasn’t flattering I was in awe of that person’s confidence. I want to get to that place and stay there.
    (I bet you do look great too.)

Leave a Reply

