Short break

So I’m back from a couple days at Qualicum Beach.  We stayed at a nice little cottage that was about 50 feet from the Strait of Georgia.  Ah, so calm, so quiet.  It was really nice to get away, I wish we could have stayed longer but DH wanted to get back before the ferry madness.  You see if you want to visit Vancouver Island, you have to take a 90 minute ferry.  All holiday weekends are seriously busy and since we didn’t have reservations, we didn’t want to get caught in sailing waits.  If you’ve ever experienced a sailing wait, you know it’s bad, but with an infant, it’s unbearable. You could end up spending 2 hours or more sitting in your car on tarmac. Blecch!

Anyways, after spending hours and hours trying to pick out reasonable accommodations for a shorter than average stay (and it had to take dogs), I got a small cabin for us.  It had two small bedrooms, bathroom with shower stall, and small living/kitchen area. We had a nice deck with a BBQ parked on top and two adirondack chairs faced towards the ocean.   I couldn’t find any reviews of the place, so I packed some extra toilet paper, and pillowcase  and a scented candle(cause you never know if it smelled funny). I preferred a larger cabin, but they they would only rent it out for 3 days, not 2.  It didn’t matter, we would squeeze our crap in.

Funny, thinking back to the old days, we would have booked some place with a spa attached or picked out nearby restaurants to visit, loaded up tons of booze and a portable stereo.  Now, it’s a playpen, inflatable duck bath, baby food,toys, etc.  Now, if only DH could have left his Crackberry at home, but he had to do a conference call while we were on the ferry!

It was nice to sit in an Adirondack chair, having a coffee in the sunshine while the baby had his morning nap.  The air was so fresh!  And you barely even heard the nearby guests. They had a little boy as well who was able to walk and play in the sand with his shovel and pail.  Soon, that would be our little boy.   All we could hear was the ocean at night.  On the side we were on, it was rocky beach, no sand, but we put the Precious in the Ergo and made our way along the coast and just enjoyed the scenery, throwing sticks in the water for Juju.  She had a blast.  We had to tie her up on a long rope at the cabin because there was a family of tame bunnies running loose on the property.  Lucky for us, she kept a silent vigil on them, endless entertainment for her for HOURS.

chillin'

And for such a timid dog, she wanted to stay outdoors all day and night, but we made her come in for the night.  The bedroom we had was so tiny, she had to spread out in the living/kitchen area.  The Precious had his own room, and for that we were grateful!

We collapsed into bed the night we arrived, full of good Scotch and wine, BBQ steak and potatoes and fresh peaches and cream corn.  During the night, we just heard some coos from the next room, but no bellowing.  In the morning, guess who didn’t wake up early?  Yes!  Not a peep out of him and he gave us just enough time to renew the woo. Yipee!  Unheard of!  Thank you fresh ocean air!  No garbage trucks rumbling down the alley, no beep, beep, beep up delivery trucks backing up, no yelling and carrying on from crazy people (I’m including myself here). No roar of traffic, no truck air brakes, no buses and NO AMBULANCE, FIRE OR POLICE SIRENS!!!!  Just the gentle sounds of waves whooshing against the shore.

Oh, I love the babbling of the kid in the morning, but it often deteriorates into bellowing and the drumming on the legs on the mattress or the crib itself.  His voice is like a call to duty and when he calls, I must go.  I told DH to go check on him because I thought he might be dead, but no, he peacefully slumbered till 8am.  Who would have thought I would think 8am was “sleeping in”?

DH was awesome, he did all the cooking, BBQing and cleaning up.  I tell you, the one thing I dislike about going to cabins or condos is the whole cooking and cleaning up thing.  I do that every day, so why would I pay someone big money so I can continue doing it on holiday?  Luckily, DH knows that a surefire way to put me in a good mood is put food in my stomach and do the dishes. And no, I did not count points in can of reduced fat Pringles.

Then DH had to leave for the better part of Saturday to attend a funeral.  Last month a friend of his died in sleep of a coronary and he really wanted a chance to say goodbye.  We were without a vehicle, but of course, I did what I always do.  Put the Precious in his Bob, tied the dog around my waist and went for  a long walk.  Not entirely relaxing, walking down the shoulder of a scenic highway but what the heck?  By the time we got home, The Precious was still not sleepy – I was doing all the pushing after all, but he finally surrendered to a nap after standing in his playpen for an hour (the dog flaked out on the deck) and I could read the newspaper, surf the Net a bit.  In truth,  I ended up snoozing a bit til DH called to say he was on his way from Campbell River.  I thought he would have stayed longer, but I think the funeral made him miss us.

I have to admit was hard to pack up all our stuff and come home, but at least I can see Mum today. (I haven’t seen in her in a week or so.) Since hitting the wall of exhaustion last month, I only see her once a week now.  Visiting gets a little tricky with nap times or errands.  The Precious has became a real source of entertainment for the old folks there.  The old ladies demand to see him and since they all have dementia, they repeat themselves ad nauseum so I have to keep introducing him over and over.  They all come grasping for him, staff included,  so I do have to do a bit of patient stick handling with them.  (One staff member thought it would be okay for him to stuff her filthy keys in his mouth – ahem – no it’s not okay, lady.)

It’s rainy and chilly here on this Labour Day so it’s just as well we came home early.   I was hoping we could get in a family picnic, but forget it.   Funny how I don’t think of actual workers anymore, but mothers delivering babies.

6 thoughts on “Short break

  1. As I was listening to you describe the tranquility, I had to think back to your post about possibly moving from the city. Did this topic come up again? 🙂

    I completely agree with you on the vacation cooking topic. I made a proclamation long ago that when we rent a vacation condo…no matter how wonderful the kitchen is…most of the food is self prepared whenever they feel the need (3 boys, 4 if you include my 50 year old) are bottomless pits and I would be in the kitchen forever…just like at home. Eating out or ordering in are both allowed 🙂

    Isn’t it amazing what fresh air and quiet can do to a baby???? Even at their worst, mine always slept better when we were near water. It’s magical!

    • DH once brought up the topic of vacationing with his friend – who has two little terrors boys – in a rented condo. Really? Just how big is this supposed condo? I completely shut down the idea. If he wants to go on vacation with them, we can do it at an all inclusive. I can completely see us two mums in the kitchen, constantly feeding the hungry boys, will there be a BBQ? If no, then that means we’ll end up doing all the cooking, not to mention all the shopping beforehand – gross!

Leave a Reply

