Double happiness

I just had the most amazing weekend.  I took an audition workshop and I had such a great time.  Hubby had a sudden trip out of town but he came back on the red eye so I could do it.  Not only did my back get better cause I didn’t lift the kid for two days, but I just killed it in the workshop.  I did a scene from NYPD Blue and it was the about a grieving mother who comes to the squad room with the intention of killing her daughter’s killer.  We worked on it and then on my 2nd attempt, the emotion just came and I actually brought people to tears.  Wow!  Awesome!  Not that I made people cry but I just did that well.  My acting coach was so proud of me.

The weekend went a little wonky when I came home Saturday evening(after a dinner out to celebrate a friend’s birthday) and hubby told me there was something wrong with Juno.  He said she had been sleeping in the doorway and she had kicked out the doorstop in her sleep and the door had slammed. He thought her tail might have been injured somehow because she was panting very heavily and didn’t want to move and couldn’t really sit properly.  He had given her an aspirin by the time I had come home so she looked stressed but not too bad.  We went to bed and two hours later she woke us up with heaving panting and DH ended up taking to the emergency room.  Now ordinarily, I am the worry wart that would demand a trip to the animal hospital, but it was DH this time that was really worried about her.  Of course he muttered that he couldn’t  sleep through her heavy panting and went to the internet to figure out what was wrong.  I encouraged him that she needed a visit to a vet and I called the animal ER for him.   I stayed up and waited to find out what was wrong with her, but eventually I fell asleep and DH finally came home at 4am.  Apparently, the vet could find no physical damage to her tail or hind parts, but suspected it was ” cold tail” syndrome and prescribed her some pain medication.  Sampson had had that so we knew that it would get better on its own.  You know who woke up an hour later and I just gave him a big bottle of watered down milk and put him back to bed. Blessedly, I got another couple of hours of sleep before I had to get up again.  DH complained all weekend about being tired and as I know that feeling of never really getting caught on sleep, I sympathized and clucked.  Then I went out.

On Sunday,  we had a LA casting director come in and we presented our scenes as auditions.  And I killed it again!  Man, if felt so good! I had to wait awhile before it was my turn and I was so nervous.  I was also struck by the amount of talent in one room.  All these wonderful actors with so many credits but not enough work!

Sometimes I get so worn down by all the rejections and it’s just nice to deliver good work that is acknowledged by your peers.  Now if I could just get a gig, that would be nice.

We had our WG general district meeting two hours after class ended, so I hastened home to make last-minute preparations.  It was an awesome meeting!   All the women I had invited jammed on me, but there were still guests.   I told my experience about when I started practicing and my journey through infertility to parenthood.  More tears all around.  I am passionate about my craft and passionate about my Buddhist practice and it feels so rewarding to move and inspire people.  And the potluck that followed was pretty darn good too!

Juno is doing much better!  Last night she wriggled on her back in her bed in satisfaction and then we knew she was on the mend.  This morning, we went for a walk and while I’m huffing and puffing my chatty kid up the hill, I had an odd feeling.  I was happy.  It was like a warm breeze, the way it come over me.  I just felt light.  I felt gratitude.  I had basked in the positive affirmations of my talent and I had a kid who was called me mama for the first time.  I had gone in to get The Precious up for breakfast and he excitedly kicked his legs against the slats of the cribs and said “mama”.   And they had both occurred in the same weekend.

Lucky me.  Lucky me.

6 thoughts on “Double happiness

  1. Wow. The happy fairy sure was busy at your place! (all except poor Juno…our pup had a “broken tail” a while back and it took him several days before he would move it, not an easy feat for a dog whose whole ass shakes when he is happy).

    I am so in awe that you can act in front of your peers. I had to speak to a group of 30 teenagers this week and almost wet my pants. Now, you just need to find a way to snag a drama series that is such a hit, your character will be a grandmother by the time the show ends 🙂
    (were you in the original part of the NYPD episode or did you just pick that randomly?)

    And…as for Precious saying mama… it’s as good as chocolate isn’t it??

    • Yes, it is wonderful – I can’t tell you how I felt – so happy it hurt! Alas, the little bugger drove me nuts not wanting to go for a nap today, but I’ll always have that moment, won’t I? As for the NYPD, it was a scene my coach chose for me to do. Coincidentally, he used to be on HIll Street Blues back in the day.)

  2. Recognition from your peers is always so great, because they, more than anyone else, understand what it takes to succeed in your field. : )

    Precious knows how to wrap Mama around his little finger, eh? ; ) Enjoy!

  3. Wonderful post! I was smiling and so happy for you by the time I read to the end. Congrats on kicking some ass with work and on hearing “Mama” – awesome!

    So glad the dog is feeling better. Mine doesn’t pant but paces around endlessly when he’s in pain. It’s heartbreaking and extremely annoying at the same time.

Leave a Reply

