Here goes nothin’

Thanks for the input, we’re going to try to put him to bed a bit earlier.  As a matter of fact, I’ll try throwing everything at the wall and seeing what sticks.  He had an early morning meltdown, so I put him down for a nap.  A tiny bit of protesting, but my timing was good.  Then this afternoon, I fed him lunch, did some emails, took a shower, then tried to get out the door to see mother.  I suspected he was a bit sleepy from lunch, but it was a spectacular day and I wanted to get out.  We headed out, he fell asleep for about 15 minutes or so in his stroller, then he woke up.  We took mum out for a stroll then headed to Starbucks for our customary outing, then took mum back.  It’s now about 3:30. I stop at an Indian restaurant to pick up some dinner because I’m pretty darn sure this is going to be husband’s first question when I see him later.  That’s when he started to wind up and act whiney and I pulled out every trick in the book while we waited for the takeout to be ready.  10 minutes later, we’re home, I feed him a bottle (thinking he had a huge lunch and can’t be that hungry after the crackers I gave him later)  and put him down.  He cries for 45 minutes straight.  I try to ignore it.  Last time, I just went in and rocked him a bit and he fell asleep so I try that.  Nope.  So he cries some more.  Finally I give up, go in and wipe the snot from his face, his t-shirt is SOAKED from tears, and I give him another small bottle.  I cry a few tears as he gives me THAT look, you know, the one that says WHERE WERE YOU?  I JUST WANTED A BIT MORE.  And then he falls asleep.

So I’ll let him have a short nap, feed him dinner and put him back to bed  – that’s the plan anyway.

Now I’m going to have a little drink and forgive myself for not being perfect.

2 thoughts on “Here goes nothin’

Leave a Reply

