May you live in interesting times

I heard back from one of those auditions – the smaller part, of course, but I’m on the short list.  And so now I’m hoping it shoots before I plan on going away.  I’m not sure why it takes then so long to decide if they want me for the part or not, but hopefully I’ll find out by the end of the week.

I also have had a couple of conversations with my mum’s doctor.  This morning she called me back and let me know she went back to see my mum and is now ordering  a CT scan.  I have to say, hubby was surprised they didn’t do that earlier, but I guess better late than never.  Also I hired a personal care aide for her 3 afternoons a week to pay close attention to her.  On Friday there will be a conference so that everyone can be on the same page.  I have to admit, I’m very pleased the staff have responded they way they have.  Of course, it took a few phone calls, but that’s what I’m here for.  I don’t expect miracles, here I just want her to be okay as she’s going to get.

Everyone is RSVPing that they’ll be here for the Precious’ first birthday party – so that should now be about 20 people (spouses, partners and kids included). Oh, man, what have I done?  Everybody likes Kentucky Fried Chicken, right?  I’m going to have to put away the breakables.

Now there’s a leak under the sink from the dishwasher so I’m waiting for a plumber.  See?  Told ya!  Five minutes of peace and appreciation and now back to the regularly scheduled chaos.

6 thoughts on “May you live in interesting times

  1. Not only are you a good mom, but you are a good daughter.

    KFC (do they have nuggets? and please tell me where on a chicken I would find a nugget–oh, never mind),deli side dishes, order the cake, buy drinks (nothing with color, unless it is the same color as your carpeting;)and invest in a good Rubbermaid storage container to shove everything in and you are good to go 🙂 Actually, get two containers and stick one under the sink…I won’t tell.

      • I was kidding too (sort of 🙂

        (but there is nothing wrong with keeping the local grocer in business by purchasing pre-made food—actually I’m not sure if your stores offer that there, but ours has a huge area with everything from chicken to meatloaf to sushi and it has saved my butt more than once).

  2. I’m so amazed he’s going to be one already. It just feels like yesterday when you guys met him for the first time.

    Hey, a Vancouver mum may not get away with KFC but you KNOW that Starbucks would be a winner! Banana bread for everyone! LOL.

Leave a Reply

