The Coziest Place on Earth

Sorry it’s been so long but it’s been crazy and I’ve been too darn tired and worn out to write.  Let’s start with my visit to San Francisco.  Loved it!  Well, I didn’t see that much of it, but what I saw I liked.  I shopped a bit when the Precious allowed me to.  And no, I’m not kidding.  I don’t think we’ll be accompanying Daddy on any more business trips.  He was completely undone by his strange surroundings and we couldn’t get a moment’s peace with the toddler who demanded to be walked and entertained EVERY WAKING second.  And when he slept, he emitted a strange roaring/creaking door sound that kept waking us up throughout the night.   We lived in fear of the crisp sheets rustling when we turned over would wake him up.  And when he was awake there was lots of shrieking, food throwing and door banging.  Oi!

As you know, I met up with Luna, her hubby and her fabulous little girl, J.  We have both come so far.  2 years ago, we sat and chatted about dogs, adoption, life and blogging.  This time we sat in the world’s most coziest home, had velvety butternut squash soup and frittata (and wine for me – yay!) and talked.  Outside  thunder rumbled and lightning flashed and the rain pelted the windows.  The children actually napped.  And when they woke up, our kids played together.

Our kids played together.  That phrase means so much to me.  My little guy reached out and held her little girl’s hand.  He adored Luna and gave her a hug.  A connection over the internet, shared grief, shared yearnings, shared journeys, shared growth… and here we were with our heart’s desires at long last.   It was what the Buddhists call a “myo ho” moment.  I did get a little misty.

The men talked as we fed the kids.  It was great that they had so much to say to one another.  The Precious observed his older playmate eating with her hands and that was that.  He decided that that was the way to go from now on.  We had to leave way too soon but we had a long drive back and we still had to pick up a few things before we returned to the hotel room.  Hubby had a convention to attend the next morning and we were trying to keep the Precious as close to his schedule as possible.

I have to admit, I had been feeling very worn out and frayed.  With all the stuff that was going on with my mum, the “wonder” weeks of my son, I just wanted to be with someone that I didn’t have to explain anything to.   I wanted her to meet my son,  to lay eyes on her little J.  (ohmigosh, the sweetest cutie pie ever – had hubby wrapped around her finger in no time!)  Her victory was my victory.  I wanted her to know just how happy I was for her.   I left there feeling calmed,  nurtured and listened to.  She fed me, wined me and sent me on my way with gifts.

We had so much more to blab about, but it will have to wait for another time.  Thanks for being there for us, Luna.

 

PS.  I almost forgot the best part – she made LEMON SQUARES!  I DID THE HAPPY DANCE!  Delicious!!!!

5 thoughts on “The Coziest Place on Earth

  1. oh my, you’ve got me sitting here at my desk, crying real tears. well said, my friend. thank you, thank you.

    our kids played together. wow, still.

    I just wish we had more time together.

    next time you’ll stay with us. and that is that. xo

  2. The two of you seeing each other together, after the roads you’ve traveled, must have been truly mystical and ““myo ho””

    I am so glad you had the chance to bask in each other’s presence and with each other’s families.

    And butternut squash soup? Mentioning that was just mean! 😉

  3. Ah, you old suck. That’s Canadian for “softy”. (I’m older but I can still say that.) The Precious gave me just enough time to write that post. Gotta run. And I’ll be staying all right – see if you can stop me.

Leave a Reply

