On the hunt

So commences the search for a new place.  We have an appointment to see a place today in our desired location.  I’m trying to work up some enthusiasm.  The ridiculous prices in this  neighbourhood  are not helping.  I’m just having a hard time settling for less than what I currently have – which is tons of space, a 2nd bathroom and a dishwasher.

The very thought of moving sends shivers down my spine.  However, I’ll be glad to move out of the downtown core.  As convenient as it has been, and one of the most beautiful parks in the country steps from my door, I’m ready to move on.   We’re about a year or so from buying a permanent home, so I had better land a well paying gig real soon!

10 thoughts on “On the hunt

  1. Good luck! I always thought house hunting would be so much fun but wow, when I actually had to do it, it was much harder than I ever thought it would be.

  2. Good luck! I think the market there is even nuttier than it is here, if such a thing is possible. There’s definitely something about owning your own home, though!

  3. Inspection. When you find a place you want to make an offer on…that word should be the first thing out of your mouth. Many secrets are hidden in the rafters and structure. Find a good (licensed if they are required there) inspector and let them dig in all the gross, not easily accessible places. Even current homeowners may not know what trouble THEY bought at the time.

    Home-ownership is fabulous and terrifying at the same time, but think of the fun you can have making it your own.

    As for a paying gig….be careful what you wish for….you may end up wildly busy 🙂

    • We’re about a year or so away from owning, I’m afraid. We’ll be renting unfortunately and at the prices we’re looking at, it’s hard to believe we’re paying someone else’s mortgage.

  4. yeah it looks like we’re going to be moving too, probably sooner than later. tough to find just the right place, but not as hard as I imagine moving with a toddler will be. YIKES.

Leave a Reply

