Bad cupid

So did you do anything special for Valentine’s Day?  We actually had a date night on Saturday and went to a fancy schmantsy Italian restaurant.  We stuffed ourselves silly. We started with mussels in white wine sauce and a crab souffle.  I actually turned down the fish special for pasta.  I’ve been craving pasta and had fettuccine CARBOnara the other day.  The reason I haven’t eaten that type of food is obvious.  The very thought of the calories alone would have me shaking in my boots.  Now?  Bring it on.  It’s rainy and dark and my stretch pants still got a little stretch in them.  That night I ordered the agnolotti stuffed with crab and porcini.  Delightful!  The waiter forgot to put in my tiramisu order so when I reminded him he brought that and ANOTHER dessert.  A chocolate mousse praline tart.   Yeah, I almost polished that off too. I think I’ve got a problem Houston.  It’s called eating my emotions.  It was great just getting out the two of us and talking excitedly about the future.  If I recall I’ve spent exactly TWO Valentine’s dinners wondering if I was pregnant yet.  Now we have a child and that means no more lingering in the streets for the heck of it.  We go back home to pay the babysitter and change into our comfies.  I’m not exactly sure what hubby had in mind for after dinner, but watching him snore on the couch was not what I had in mind.

So to make up for that hubby had a romantic night planned for us LAST night.  So I took off to go shopping when hubby came home from work.  I go to a lingerie store.  I start at the bargain comfy flannel rack and work my nerve up to the fancy stuff.  Everything they have out for Valentine’s looks great on a hanger, but there’s not much material to them if you know what I mean.  I pick up a few satiny things.  I have a sick feeling which is later confirmed in the dressing room.  I’ve gone up a bra size and that’s not good.  I’ve got back fat.  Ohmigod, I’ve officially turned into my mother. If they had had kleenex back there I would have wept.  Nothing looked quite right on me.  Not even the  cotton pj’s stuff which I bought anyway cause I was back there so long I figured I had to buy something.  I leave there convinced the salesgirls feel sorry for me as I buy the cheapo pjs  on Valentine’s and head out into the rainy night.

Hubby is perfectly wonderful as he took over mealtime and bathtime for kiddo.  He goes out to get sushi, puts on a movie which he proceeds to snore through.  Then just as we’re retiring for the night and I have found a magical nightie that hides all manner of wicked things, guess who decided to wake up and NOT go back to sleep for a couple of hours?  I told hubby to turn the monitor off, he’s fine, but no, we’re serenaded by cackling, squealing and eventually yelling.  You’ve got to be kidding me!? It was like the kid knew what we were up to.  He doesn’t normally  wake up til 2am or so.  By the time hubby gets back from dealing with the devil, I’ve given up and fallen asleep since it’s well after midnight.

He’s off to Texas today on business.  Sigh.  Well, it’s the thought that counts, right?

9 thoughts on “Bad cupid

  1. Hahaha…. wait until you get “mommy! Be quiet!” Trying to get a little lovin with small kids in the house = good times indeed!
    Sorry it wasn’t what you hoped for in the nookie department.

  2. S1 was a little over 2, and was in a toddler bed because we needed the crib for S2 and I was too cheap to buy a second crib. Anyhoo….one night right in the middle of it….we hear our door hinge squeek and S1 comes in with his blankie, pacifier(don’t judge me) and says…”Hey! What Doin?” We still laugh about it.

    I need some sexy sleep wear that is designed to cover my stomach flab (literally an overhang) and lift my boobs up from my knees, while still being revealing. Any ideas?

  3. I empathize with the missing nookie; I just can’t get it up, and it is so frustrating because I miss sex with my husband. Hopefully you’ll have a nice reunion!

  4. I’m so sorry your Valentine’s didn’t turn out the way you hoped!

    Babies DO eventually sleep all night and the baby monitors DO eventually get packed away and the adults do get to–ahem–get back to business again. Have hope!

  5. Sounds like my life! And I co-sleep so you get the idea.

    Thanks for dropping by my blog and say hi. To answer your question, yes I chant Nam Myo Ho Renge Kyo. You know about it?

Leave a Reply

