House envy

I’m finally starting to feel a bit more relaxed.  There’s still a vacation kind of vibe  going on – it feels a little cabin-y with the first floor’s rooms being so close together.  DH’s man den is coming along nicely.  I demanded we get the 42 in upstairs in the living room (kind of addicted to its ambient noise) so he had to go out and get another TV for himself.  In the old days, I would have predicted he would have gotten a much bigger one but he reasoned that we would be moving on to another place soon so  32 inch would suffice.  It would eventually go into a bedroom, he would get the giant TV of his dreams when we got a big enough living room or basement.  That’s progress, I guess.

My good friend  ( I’ll call her C) came over with her 17 month old to finally see the place.  She’s owned 3 places in the time that I’ve known her and her last place is a custom designed penthouse.  C really does have great taste  for modern things. I, on the other hand, am living for the day when I don’t have to go the route of particle board furniture.  She liked the place of course and  offered some really great suggestions.  She suggested I get one of those cupboards that go above toilets instead of the 5 Ikea boxes  (soon to be 6) I have on the shelves.  Yet there’s a well thought out reason for those boxes. #1, I hate those cupboards.  I either get a cheap one that doesn’t really hold much or I get an expensive one that I will never use once we move.  Plus none of the floors are precisely level.  #2, no cupboard could possibly hold the 2000 beauty and hair items I currently possess.  And since there is only one closet (in the master bedroom)  on the main floor, you can see my problem.  I’m not going downstairs every time I need to get a Qtip.  I still have one box left that I haven’t unpacked.

Another good suggestion was to build a custom cupboard inside the fireplace we’ll never use.  FIL can handle that I think.  I’ve always wanted a real fireplace, but it’s impractical with a toddler.  So we put a gold foil chest(that I’ve had since the 80’s)  in front of it to keep Mr. Curious out.  I wonder how long that will last.

Walking around the neighbourhood, I’ve really developed house envy.  Some of them are simply gorgeous on the outside.  I expect they’re all in the $2 mill +  range.  A wee pricey for our means, but here’s hoping our future brightens up considerably in the near future. Ah, perchance to dream  – and my dream has stainless steel appliances in it.

2 thoughts on “House envy

  1. Wow. When it’s time to downsize, I am going to hire a truck to move my house up there to sell it. We have a little over 3000 sq ft, 5 br, 3 bath and I GUARANTEE you we would never get 2+ million or anything even close. In our region, the homes in the 4000+ sq ft range generally go for about $500-$650,000.
    Location, location, location.

Leave a Reply

