Sunny with cloudy periods

Yes, spring is finally here.  Things are a bit easier for me with the Precious, meaning his ever changing toddler ways have evened out a bit to let his poor mum catch up.  His sleeping habits have normalized.  As long as he gets outside and burns off his energy, he’s good to go.  He now goes to bed later but sleeps longer in the mornings and sometimes he rouses a bit in the early mornings (letting me know he’s got a lovely bouquet waiting for me) and then he goes back to sleep.  He has a nasty tendency to sleep in when it’s daddy’s turn to get up with him and waking up at 6am when it’s raining outside and I’m dog tired.  I try not to take it personally, but it’s hard.

The day after I shot the commercial I was having one of those epic sleeps –  solid, restful and dreaming about pleasant things and he woke up in  a crappy, crying mood and all I could do was mentally curse and get immediately pissed.  Then of course, it was an epic battle to get his diaper changed (a common trend) and get the day started and I had to work very hard to put on my grateful attitude.  I would have loved to grab him and put him in bed with me for a snuggle, but he’s not that kind of kid.  If he’s up, he’s up and moving, cuddling is boring.

But that’s the exception, not the rule.  He seems to understand an inordinate amount of information coming at him.  He’s not using actual words that much.  He says mama, dada, wow, yay, up, nana,  (for both his Nanny and banana) and NO, but he’s more comfortable pointing and shaking his head no and nodding yes when asked if he wants something.   And since I ask him a few times, I’m sure he means it and not just doing it for the hell of it.  He actually seems shy to talk.  Sometimes when I’m trying to get him to say something, he just smiles and looks away.   He loves to wave bye bye and slam the door in my face.  He also signs for more and please.  This is amazing cause I’d pretty much given up on signing since I was the only one doing it.  But he’s understanding he gets what he wants when he does it. If daddy says something like “be nice”, he’s more apt to comply.  With me, I may have to chase him around a bit but I’ve learned to be more stern and make sure I really get eye to eye contact from him.  This method works better than yelling. Short and clear directives are the key.  And the key to my heart is when my little guy smooches me goodnight.  That always gets me.

He’s now running, climbing up on chairs, climbing stairs, and insists on doing it on his own first. I’m learning to let him have a try putting on his socks and shoes and then asking him if he wants my help.  This often leads to 20 minute exits, but I pick and choose my battles.   He can throw a ball forward with accuracy and he can actually catch it as well.  He is really looking at your face for the inevitable yay reaction instead of the actual ball, but he’s getting better every day.  When we can’t find the dog collar or some other object, we ask him and he inevitably knows where it is because he’s moved it somewhere.

Things with DH are somewhat better.  I am feeling better about going out to work and going to class but you can see DH struggle with the fact that we even have a sitter.  Not that he knows any couple that does without one.  We talk mainly about the kid, but his parents came for a visit so we went out for the evening to dinner and a movie and actually stayed out til 11pm.  It was nice, but then the next day, it was back to the same sort of pointless bickering.  This time DH has got an axe to grind and he’s just waiting to catch me on something. He wants to hear me say, you’re right, I’m wrong.   About ANYTHING.  And I really thought he was trying to make an effort.  He says he’s tired of me biting his head off.  I don’t think I’m doing that, I think I’m disagreeing with him without using the words dear and sweetheart and your royal highness preceding my comment.  He could be right about that, he could be right about a lot of things, I just find it interesting that he seems to only want to be right than actually hear the why’s behind it all and how he could change a little bit.

Well, of course, this week, he’s super busy at work, I’ve got class scheduled and I’m working two more nights but starting mid afternoon and now we can’t get the sitter because she’s graduating this week. Congratulations to her, but now I feel bad for screwing up everyone’s schedule.   What can you do?  Note to self, hire another sitter, because you never know. So no class for me this week.  Good news is we’re all  going away for a much-needed holiday on Friday for a week.  Please pray it doesn’t rain, folks.

3 thoughts on “Sunny with cloudy periods

  1. Kids have their own personality and schedule, and by Jove it isn’t easy to raise a kid.

    I have no idea where the issues between you and hubby stem from, but it seems like a good idea to have a clear, across the table, face to face.

    I hope you get another sitter, or a reserve one at least.

    And picking from Lori’s comment, I hope you had a nice birthday.

    iclw #36

Leave a Reply

