I’ve got a Klingon

Okay, who the hell is this tiny terror who has taken over my lovely little boy?  And he only acts like that with me!  In public, he’s wonderful, doesn’t run off, listens to me and is quiet.  In private, he is constantly pestering me, demanding this and that, defies me every single time we have to leave the house, stomps his feet, slams doors in my face, refuses to use the potty unless it’s his idea and it’s usually to delay us leaving the house.  I’ve had to “disrespect his Buddhahood” and carry his screaming, twisting, clawing at the door body out to the car to make an appointment.  That’s always lovely.  Planning to get him out takes an hour which usually means I look like hell and usually forget one thing or another. 

I’ve had two stress free drop offs at his play group and that’s it.  Usually I have to sit in little tiny chair at the with one or two mums whose lovely darlings can’t bear to be parted from us.  At first it’s cute, and then it’s like prison for 90 minutes..  A couple of the mums have been in their workout gear, sullenly checking their smartphones, muttering under their breath.  Yep, I’m one of them. The Precious was literally holding onto me and I had to walk him to the teacher to get his name label.  He wouldn’t even hang up his coat for fear of letting go of my hand.  Ah, separation anxiety!  Well, he’s bonded to me all right. 

Oh, by the way, the big audition I had a couple weeks ago?  I got a callback tomorrow!  Wish me broken legs!

13 thoughts on “I’ve got a Klingon

  1. Break a leg! Or two! I don’t know if it’s any consolation but Z is so different with me then she is with anybody else. And I admire your attempts at separating I am away to chicken.

  2. I go to a Family Place near me where you take your child upstairs and then go downstairs downstairs for coffee. It’s a bit of a system (you have to tell them you are going down so someone plays one-on-one with your child for a little bit … but it works. I’ve left Theo for up to an hour before he called for me. Then we all go back up for stories and songs followed by playtime outside. I need to get Theo used my leaving as I found a 1/2 time daycare for him for September.

    Anyway, good luck with your audition!!

  3. Children, I think, are more apt to test boundaries at home because it’s safer there … in the Real World, it’s a lot scarier to see what happens if you run away. 😉 (I, too, have had to disrespect my daughter’s Buddhahood.)

    Thanks for coming by, too … I never know whether people read follow up comments, so I try to comment on their blogs, too. And for what it’s worth, your “tiny sliver of the mundane” is worth a lot to more people than you know, I suspect. I never set out to be a big time blogger, either … life certainly does get more complicated then. But still: I feel like I owe it to my readers to be the person I represent online, to the best of my ability.

    Wishing you broken legs, in the best way possible!

  4. I just looked at the date and realized that *tomorrow’s* call back was actually yesterday. I hope you are limping around on broken legs 🙂

Leave a Reply

