The clock ticking…

Okay, I’m one year closer to being half a fucking century old.

Thank you to all those who wished me a happy birthday on FB – that was very cool.  Bless that auto reminder,eh?  I felt so popular.  Back in the old days, I would let everyone and their dog know when my birthday was with a countdown but this year, I’m not that into it.  That biological clock ticking away is not just about your ovaries, folks.

After the usual struggle to get ready, walk the dog and get out of the house, the Precious and I went to see my mum.  Her hair seemed okay for once so I didn’t have to take out the scissors and comb to get out the matted hair.  I told my mum that it was my birthday and I had returned to the scene of where it all began.  She laughed.  She used to be the very first phone call get in the morning and she would sing to me.   I got a video of the kid and my mum singing happy birthday to me.  Best present ever.  It was a little tough not crying when I was driving back home.

Later we went out for a terrific West Indian dinner downtown, it was pretty rushed (me who likes to linger over dinner for at least 90 minutes), but I still managed a couple of Dark & Stormy rum cocktails. Mmmm, delicious and refreshing!  Jerk sablefish – omg, it was good.  Yep, had to share it with the kid cause the chickpeas we ordered for him were too spicy  – I hope he appreciates the sacrifice.  Hubby looked at me solemnly and promised me a trip for my 50th.  Poor guy.  He’s worn out. I think he needs a trip  more than I do.  And then we rush back home.  I hope to return soon to enjoy dinner at a more leisurely pace, but when we’re with the kid, it helps to get him to bed on time.  He napped yesterday which gives me a bit of a break but it means he’s not that tired by 7:30.  And if he doesn’t sleep until after 8, he actually gets up at 6 or 6:30am.  And if he goes to bed on time with no nap, he sleeps in til 7 or 7:30 am.

Then I debated doing more transcribing work, I have at least 4 more hours of work to get done by tonight  cause I’m working tomorrow night and I have a Buddhist meeting to go to tonight. But it was still my birthday and I didn’t want to work, so I watched Hell’s Kitchen and tried to not be annoyed by my sleeping husband on the couch.  Reminded myself – appreciate the day you had – cause you have a husband that loves you, a child that loves you and friends who love you.  Life is good even when you are not in the spotlight.  Do the work of life.  You have so much to do.  Nam myo ho renge kyo.  The clock is ticking…

7 thoughts on “The clock ticking…

  1. Happy birthday! As for the aging thing, it’s like my Grandma used to say — “It’s better than the alternative.” ; ) Glad you got to share some special time with your mom!

  2. A very happy, happy belated birthday to you. I read once that you should never regret getting older for there are those who do not have that privilege. On my birthday it helps me get through it. :0 I wish the best for you in the coming year.

  3. Belated Happy Birthday to you too!

    Just y’day, I was talking to a kid & mum, and the little girl has her birthday in July. She actually asks her mum every day as to how many days now remain to her birthday….yup, birthdays, once upon a time, were filled with anticipation.

    P.S. I want to say thanks for your lovely comment on my blog.

  4. Happy Birthday woman! Right there behind you. Seems totally impossible. Theo is the same. No nap. Up at 6:30 down by 7-7:30. Do love those long evenings!

Leave a Reply

