Survivor story

I was so moved by this story, while perusing my smartphone for news on the go – and stumbled across this.  I just had to share it.  An amazing story of one mother surviving Auschwitz.  http://news.nationalpost.com/2012/08/25/pregnant-in-auschwitz-toronto-holocaust-survivor-recalls-split-second-decision-that-saved-her-and-unborn-son/

When I was about 11 or so I read Eli Weisel’s “Night”.  It was the first time I realized that people were discriminated against on the basis of religion.  The fact that people could do such horrific things in this world (and frankly still do in one way or another) shook me to the core and forever changed how I viewed humanity.

Still, I remained in awe of those who survive – to tell the tale.

2 thoughts on “Survivor story

  1. For me, it was “The Diary of Anne Frank” around the same age. I have read a lot of WWII memoirs & fiction. (I agree that “Sarah’s Key” was very good too.) Boggles my mind how people were able to survive.

Leave a Reply

