And now for something completely Buddhist

Just a reminder to myself really.  When I moved to the west side tothat tony island-like enclave up the hill, you see a lot of Lexus, Mercedes, Range Rovers and the ubiquitous BMW X5.  Something I never really put a lot of time thinking about until I was surrounded by them driving down the tree lined streets, renovated Craftsman style homes sprinkled here and there.  When we were chilly in our old, non insulated “cute” house and put up plastic on our thin “heritage” style windows, I would look out and imagine that we would buy in that overpriced part of town and I would wear Hunter boots one day as well.  I will miss the proximity to my beloved endowment lands where I could walk and forget about my troubles for a bit, I would remember the walks with my old dog and the old dreams I had when I walked through those patches of where all of a sudden you feel a pocket of warm and you can smell the earth.  I struggled and fought against the demands of SAHMhood, wife and dutiful daughter.  The part of me that never followed schedules and never adored the domestic part of life that other women seemed so at ease with.  The only tether to the ground I had was nam myo ho renge kyo and the promise, the prayer, the daimoku that I could indeed increase my capacity to handle whatever life’s hardships came my way and find happiness.  A measure of peace for a mind that chatters incessantly with doubts and fears and insecurities.  Despite all my grousing and bitching and wailing, I have enjoyed so much more than I have suffered.  Learning how to throw a punch made my big middle aged ass jiggle with joy.  There can be Buddhahood in anger, let me tell you.

So I will discover new paths on the North Shore.  I have friends to meet and friends to make.  Even squeezed in a visit from my Buddhist pals to welcome me to the new district.  They brought tulips for me and I made tea and we talked.  So  comforting.   I’ve found a short trail so far that takes us underneath the highway.  Juju of course is not crazy about it too much because a skatepark is nearby and she HATES skateboards.  It’s like her kryptonite.  There’s a lot of big box stores, but there’s also free parking which should save me a bundle.  I can’t leave my trash outside on the deck cause there’s bears to consider apparently, so that’s something new.  I huff and puff pushing a 35 lb boy in a stroller uphill so there’s my next project – get in shape so I don’t get passed over by a senior with walking poles.  There’s a Starbucks and an organic market within walking distance so that will help.  I’ve yet to find some great sushi (we are very picky) but I have found the holiest of grails in a nearby L.ondon Drugs, the drugstore, the convenience store with everything from chocolate to firelogs to computers. Mum is not too far, I can get downtown across the bridge in 15 minutes if the lights are with me.

I will eventually get everything unpacked and put away.

Yesterday, I made funeral plans for my mother.  It’s all good.  I can do this.

 

Faith enables us to receive the eternal joy derived from the Law. So let us
engrave in our hearts this point: We ourselves receive this joy. Because we
receive it ourselves, our happiness does not depend on others. No one else can
make us happy. Only by our own efforts can we become happy.
Therefore, there is no need to feel envious of others. There is no need to bear a grudge against someone or depend on another person for our happiness. Everything comes down to our state of life. It is within our power to take our lives in any direction we wish.

To be dragged around by other people or the environment is not the way
of life the Lotus Sutra teaches. True happiness is not feeling happiness one
moment and misery the next. Rather, overcoming the tendency to blame our
sufferings on others or on the environment enables us to greatly expand our
state of life.

—-Daisaku Ikeda

4 thoughts on “And now for something completely Buddhist

  1. Oh how I needed this today. You were in my thoughts this morning…wondering how you are, thinking about the settling in, the emotional journey with your family. I really relish this connection … It truly reminds me I am not alone and nor ate you… though I can feel the weight of it all in your previous post. I always find its a challenge to focus on the family I have rather than the family I wish I had. Your family is so lucky to have you As are we who can share this space with you. Thank you for the wisdom today. It also makes me think I should get my ass jiggling with a little bit of kickboxing which I used to love.

    Xoxoxo

    Pam

  2. Glad to hear you are settling in. 🙂

    Right now, I am reading a book called “Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory & the Conquest of Everest: by Wade Davis (a Canadian) — all about the first expeditions to Mt. Everest in the post-WWI 1920s, and the men who tried to climb it. It is a huge thick book, a bit slow-moving at times, but absolutely fascinating. It goes in some depth into the history of the British in Tibet, and the Buddhist monasteries the expeditions visited en route to the big mountain, etc. I couldn’t help but think of you as I read those parts. 😉

  3. Sensie rocks, doesn’t he? When ever i am down i just need to read his guidence. ‘where there is challenge, there is progress, hope, happiness, joy victory…’ i am keeping you in my prayers…

Leave a Reply

