Adoption reality show?

Have you seen the show, “I’m Having Their Baby”?  It’s on Slice TV or Oxygen.  I wanted to watch it with DH, but he had absolutely no interest in it. Of course, I hated the title because it was obviously not about paid surrogates, but women who have chosen adoption instead of parenting.  Also they always used the phrase “*** days before adoption”.  Well, no, it’s not 3 days before adoption, it’s 3 days before the baby is born and it’s not like even if the birthmother leaves the baby with the adoptive parents at the hospital that it’s a done deal.  That just drives me nuts.  Last time I heard, adoption orders are not done by the judge in the waiting room of a hospital.

I thought it was a great idea mainly because I thought it was great to see things from a birthmother’s point of view and also how different adoption can look depending on the circumstances and the people involved.  I’ve only seen a few episodes and not recently (not sure if it’s still airing) but I can’t seem to find full episodes online anymore.  At least they can’t be viewed from Canada. Did anyone see it?

3 thoughts on “Adoption reality show?

  1. I don’t know if that’s the show I watched but I watched something similar and so much drives me crazy about those shows that I haven’t watched it since. I am really curious though about the birthmothers’ perspectives and occasionally will read birthmother blogs.

  2. I did watch it. I also disliked the “___ days before adoption” thing. How presumptuous!! Geesh. Other than that, MOST of it wasn’t bad. Most. I hope they’ll listen to viewer feedback and improve it, if there’s another season. I do appreciate that it gets people talking about adoption, especially open adoption.

Leave a Reply

