Not eating bonbons

I know those of you working from home (or outside the home) are all going to laugh at me.  We told you so, girl!  I just got a whole bunch of transcribing work from a client.  Basically, a 2 hour consumer research video takes about 3-4 hours to transcribe (I type everything people say – not 100% like a court stenographer, but as well as I can without the ahem, umms, and change your mind in the middle of a thought speech).  I’ve done about 13 of them so far.  This means it has taken me about 39 hours over the course of 10 days. Nights and weekends. I have a kid to shock and awe during the day, a dog to walk, auditions, try to arrange a play reading, attend Buddhist meetings, etc.  I have even brought my child over to a friend’s for a play date (30 min. drive away) and worked upstairs for 90 minutes until she had to leave.  I took one night off. And this week, I am working 3 nights doing more live notetaking, so unless I have some daylight hours, I won’t be able to finish the project before we go to the in-laws this weekend.  And oh, yeah, I’ve got another client. 

Good part about all of this is I rather like being terribly busy and I’m making a ton of money in a short period of time. 

Now my question is this – how the heck do you working women get anything done WITHOUT BEING CONSTANTLY INTERRUPTED!?! And in particular those who work from home?!  I consider myself lucky if I get to have private bathroom time.   Hey, I’m not saying I didn’t take breaks of my own to eat or play ….spider solitaire or Candy Crush saga…or even a well deserved 30 minute break to watch part of an episode about a former scientologist on Brainwashed  – riveting!!!! … cause if I was working in an office, I’d get lunch or pee breaks, right? I’m pretty tired from a full day of mothering, driving to and fro and yes, making dinner, so I’m just about fried with working after the kidlet goes down and I can only get one  video done then or I’m up til 3am and that’s not going to happen. Hubby walks through the kitchen and starts talking to me despite me being plugged in and concentrating, the kid wants something, and can only be distracted with 18 minutes episodes of Spiderman and even the dog gets in the act by coming over and staring at me in that way that only a dog can do.

Bad part is – who the heck has time for laundry, vacuuming, grocery shopping, errand running, and calling people?  Apparently, I still do. 

This is a bit of an introduction for me in the fall when I attempt to bring in more work for myself.  It’s solitary, dull work but I make incredible money doing it and I’ll be able to afford a regular babysitter instead of relying on my friends’ generosity.  It seems though that unless you are physically absent and unreachable, people and dogs don’t respect the fact that you’re BUSY. 

Yes, I did interview a 13 year old babysitter but she’s doing summer school til August!  That doesn’t really help me out at the moment, but it gives me hope we’ll get back those date nights people keep telling us we need.  And yes, I’m calling someone else today who is older and can actually drive herself home. 

I suppose it’s not much different for those women working f/t and then come home to do more work .And no, I’m not complaining hubby doesn’t do anything around the house, he certainly does, but I also notice that he also has a point in which he STOPS doing stuff. He falls asleep in bed  or on the couch and I still get up after finishing work and make sure the door is locked, tidy the plates that are still left around and let the dog out for a night pee. 

Oh, and guess what, I got another gig!  Low budget deal but it’s all good to me – and let’s face it – it’s a DAY OFF!

I’d also like to take this space to officially apologize to my mother who worked all day, came home, made dinner, did laundry, ironing  and had the audacity to wake me up by vacuuming early in the morning.  I was useless to you mum and I’m soooooo sorry. 

6 thoughts on “Not eating bonbons

  1. Ha — this is the story of my life. You get better at it over time. I treat my work time as work time. I try not to do laundry or cook during it, though sometimes that can’t be helped. I usually set goals for the work time, and as long as I hit those goals (I have 3 articles today and a set of interview questions to research), I’m happy with the work day. But it takes enormous discipline: both for yourself and for everyone else in the house to know not to interrupt you. Working from home is really really hard even though I like it better than working out of the house where I can’t wear my robe.

  2. I don’t work from home, but I can absolutely sympathize with how tough it is to fit everything in to a 24 hour period. I work rotating 12 hour shifts, and hubby works Monday to Friday 10-6. It’s a constant, well-choreographed dance that we’ve had years to perfect… I guess what I’m saying is- be patient. You will figure out shortcuts. I love my slow cooker- I use it on our busiest days. Laundry is done little bits at a time, like one load per day- there is no laundry day. Vacuuming- almost never. Dusting- really almost never. But I’ve had to learn to turn a blind eye so as not to drive myself insane. I drag my daughter on errands, and try to break them up with a fun trip to the splash pad. Hey- it’s not perfect, but all in all, we’re pretty happy. Hang in there!!!!

  3. I don’t have a child in the mix, and I don’t work from home — but I agree, it’s hard to fit everything in. I usually managed to get a fairly decent dust, vacuum & cleaning in once a week (dh did the vacuuming) — but I spent all day Saturdays doing it (along with the laundry) — and there never seemed to be time to the deep cleaning (mopping floors, cleaning windows, etc.) & organizing/purging work, Now that dh is at home/early-early retired, he has been doing most of the cleaning (somehow I’m still doing the laundry…). He was saying this past week how tired he was afterward, & how boring it was to do it week after week. Welcome to my world, buddy. 😉 Suddenly I have all this free time on weekends, which has been weird. We’ve been busy lately though — we’re hosting a big family party next weekend, but since he’s doing the regular housework, we’ve actually had time to wash the windows & weed the backyard this weekend. Thank heaven!!

    Note: Hubby is asleep on the couch as I type this. 😉

    • Yes, housework is boring, isn’t it. My hubby is quite good at it. Do you notice how much they talk about what they did and how much they got done? Like they’re supposed to get a cookie or something?

  4. Just getting caught up here. Ahh life.
    I started my transcription company when youngest kid was 3. I can TOTALLY relate to your scenario. I worked odd hours, utilized a movie a day (yeah, I suck, but it was 90 minutes I had Disney babysit for me) and just let the house go to hell….but it was worth it to have my office at home and be here when the kids were around. I don’t regret it at all. When the company grew and I hired staff (also working from home) I was able to back off and give them most of the work while I did the proofing and editing. I did solve the interruption problem somewhat by making the rule that if my office door was shut it meant not to bother me unless it was really important…and needing another cookie was not really important. Find some good interactive toys/books/blocks etc that the boy can enjoy on his own while you are still within eyeshot of him…he will get it 🙂

    • I wrote this big long reply and the computer ate it. What I was trying to say was that my husband wanted me to grow my business but I really didn’t want to. I simply don’t get that much work on a regular basis to warrant it. And frankly, I’d have to really start marketing to people other than consumer research groups to increase my income to an legitimate yearly amount.

Leave a Reply

