Priorities

I haven’t blogged in a while because I haven’t had much time in the morning to myself.  Okay, I’ve had none.  I have attempted to remedy this getting up earlier than my darling Boo.  The first time I decided to get up at 7, because he was getting up at 7:30 or so.  Of course, he woke up at 7:05.  Then I tried 6:30 and he woke up at 6:31.  Oh,  yes,  I even tried 6am.  You see where I’m going with this, right?  I mean, I literally open my eyes and sit up and his door would open and I could hear the footsteps of Doom.  A while ago, I even started making French press coffee because I didn’t want the beep of the coffee machine to signal to him that I was up.  LD (little dictator as he’s known now) used to wake up slowly and snuggle beside me and watch Knowledge network while I would tap away on my laptop and drink my coffee.  Those days are long gone.  He would throw his feet on it or kick it “by accident”.  He did not care that it was a $700 laptop and I needed it for work.  I tried reasoning that mummy did actually need to check her email for work (usually my work requests come in the morning and if I didn’t get back to them, I might lose out on work).  I also realized he needed my attention (hence the reason I was trying to get up earlier for a cup of coffee and a bit of quiet).  So I put it aside until he was otherwise engaged, but really, sometimes I don’t get to finish reading things or sending emails until he is physically out of the house. (And this post was interrupted by Boo for the millionth time and I ended up hurriedly arranging a playdate.)

I have spent the entire summer doing fun things with my son.  We have walked the dog at various parks, thrown sticks and stones into the water for Juno.  I’ve enrolled him in 30 minute swimming classes 5 days a week for 3 weeks.  I’ve put him in preschool programs, sports camps, library visits, play dates, etc.  We have made cookies, gone for smoothies, walked in nearby gardens, watched a gazillion episodes of Spiderman together.  All in all, we’ve grown closer and had a good time doing so. 

Now it’s preschool time again 3 times a week for 2 1/2 hrs in the morning.  Cue the trumpets!  I had a doctor’s appointment downtown to go over my blood test results.  No surprise, but I’ve learned I have to put myself higher up on the priority list.  Hell, I need to get ON the list.  My fasting blood sugar number is at the high end of normal range as is my LDL cholesterol level.  I’ve never had these numbers before on paper nor on the scale.  Between my mother’s illness, family karma, moving, marriage issues, and a demanding schedule of being a f/t mother and p/t actress/notetaker, I’ve let all my hard efforts with my fitness slide right into the toilet.  Not sure what’s been keeping me going, but I suspect it’s candy and wine.  It wasn’t the long ago when after visiting my mother in the hospital, I would drive past Whole Foods on the way home, and pick up milk, bread and a slab of tiramisu to polish off when I got home at 10pm.  And then wash it down with a glass of Apothic Red. Red wine is heart healthy – right? Now that there have been significant improvements in most areas of my life, the good news is that I have an opportunity to reverse those numbers and get healthy again. 

Goodbye bacon, hello veggies.  Whee!

 

9 thoughts on “Priorities

  1. You and I are living parallel lives. I could’ve written this post except I haven’t had the time to go to the doctor quite yet. Oh okay, let’s be honest, I am terrified to go. Z started preschool last week but this week has been out of commission … I did see just a glimpse of what it is like to take back a few hours of time and it certainly feels precious doesn’t it? I actually joined a gym with a single membership as G does not want to go. It has a spinning class and I thought of you. Didn’t you spend once upon a time? I’m terrified to go. I don’t like group classes that I always feel like I’m going to be doing something wrong. I think it only been to one spin class before. Maybe you and I can have a virtual cheering section for one another. I will be thinking of you if you’ll be wishing me luck that I don’t get my foot caught the pedal and fall off the bike.

    Love and miss you it’s so wonderful to see/hear your voice here,

    Xoxo

    Pam

  2. Oh yes I used to love spin class. I love group classes! I love anything social. Except now I’m so horribly out of shape, I will feel embarrassed! My middle aged spread has spread all over the place! The middle aged women in my neighbourhood (cause their kids are grown or at least in high school) take CROSSFIT! The old ladies work out – I once walked by a gym at Boo’s summer class and it was filled with 75 middle aged women doing aerobics! Across the hall there were about 50 grey seniors who looked like they could kick my ass from their chairs! Look up the Grouse Grind – old people here do it! I’d die a horrible wheezy death. I also used to kickbox – remember that? The joy I’d get being the fighting Buddhist – punchng the crap out of a bag?

    Do the spin class, it will get your ski legs back in shape.Just go slower than everyone else so you figure out the pace and don’t look over at anyone else’s monitor. You’ll just feel competitive like me and burn out. And then I’ll do one – but for the love of Pete, please buy a padded seat or shorts – the last time I attempted a spin class, my powder puff was on fire for 2 weeks!

  3. chocolate has gotten me through many an afternoon!
    those are tough habits to break though. so hard when you don’t have any/much time to yourself. often I am just the worst housekeeper, because damn, something’s gotta give.
    I feel your pain though. I don’t even recognize certain curves of my body!
    love you xo

    • I just have one kid – you have two!!!! I’m not sure how my mother did this….oh yeah, I remember my grandmother coming to stay for a while…and various babysitters…and she did go a little crazy….

  4. Tiramisu…. lalalalalala… I can’t hear you…. 😉

    I haven’t had my bp taken in over six months. My next checkup is in late October & I am already getting nervous about it. :p I haven’t done anything remotely exercise-related in months either — no walking (aside from to & from the train to the office & vice versa), no yoga classes (they stopped offering the ones at the high school nearby & I’m too lazy to go the extra few miles to the local rec centre). Does the fact that I am carrying my own briefcase since dh lost his job (i.e., weightlifting) count??

  5. Why do we ladies always put ourselves last?? I swore I would bump myself up on the importance list and still keep sliding back to the “I’ll to that when I’m done…(fill in the blank)”. I finally decided ENOUGH. If I don’t make myself happy and healthy I won’t be here for all the experiences I still want. I did not lose weight for anyone else, it had to be for me. Husband had made cracks about my increased girth over the years and I had plenty of reasons..all of which were legit. When I started to get healthier he thought he had something to do with it and I had to break it to him that his feelings never crossed my mind. If he likes me 50 lbs lighter that’s fine but he can’t take credit for any of it. It was all me and my desire to still be here to watch my kids lives unfold. Though now I have to go to the store and get some tiramisu 🙂

Leave a Reply

