Microblog Monday

Microblog_MondaysFor the first time in a long time, we did not see the in-laws for Thanksgiving (it was the Canadian Thanksgiving today and it was a long weekend).  The in-laws dog had torn a muscle and was on restricted activity so our active kid and dog would not have made a great combination for her and it was decided to forgo the usual visit over the long weekend. MIL will be making a short visit mid week though.  We were invited to friends of friends for a lovely Thanksgiving and it was great being able to hang with friends for Thanksgiving.  Nothing tastes better than a meal I don’t have to cook, folks. It was the most I had to drink a while (surprise, surprise) and it was also a gluten free event.  Wow, we’re so precious here on the Left Coast.  All in all, it was lovely and the sun was actually shining in the late afternoon.

On the gluten free, dairy free, sugar free diet I’m supposed to be on….well, err, not so bad.  I do feel much better overall.  Not sure if it’s the supplements or the diet.  It’s an epic fail on the sugar free part, though.   Hi, I’m Deathstar and I’m a sugar addict.  And so my weight has not budged a bloody inch.  I’m about 70% gluten free and 99% dairy free and I’m pissed that I apparently refuse to give up sugar.  So frustrating.

And I got a little blue, I have to admit.  I always do a bit around the holidays cause I miss my mum being there.  Our house is not wheelchair accessible and so she hasn’t come over since we moved here.  I went to see her on Sunday and brought her out to a nearby Starbucks and I fed her pumpkin pie and she sang.  Oddly, she didn’t remember that I was married and I had indeed invited her to my wedding.  In fact, she sang “At Last”.  She doesn’t usually forget old things.  My friend came down to sit with us and that made it easier somehow, like I had a sister there with me, sharing that time. It’s increasingly hard to go and see her and of course, leave.

We are expecting rain all this week, so I’m reminding myself to move forward, begin again, appreciate all that I have, and….. eat less sugar.

Don’t know what #MicroblogMondays is? Check it out at Stirrup Queens here

 

7 thoughts on “Microblog Monday

  1. The kind of ambiguous loss you’re dealing with regarding your mom is so hard, and we don’t have clear ways of grieving such a thing.

    I hear you on the sugar thing. So hard when you’re already giving up other stuff.

  2. Seconding Lori above. With your mum, it keeps changing and the therefore the loss keeps refreshing. I think it’s more than understandable that you got a little blue.

    I have trouble giving up sugar even though the time that I eshewed sugar for a year I felt wonderful. I want to feel wonderful without having to give up everything.

  3. I’m sorry to hear that it’s not easy for your mom to visit.

    I don’t think I could give up sugar. Or dairy. Or gluten. Not without starving to death, as fruits and vegetables often give me hives.

  4. (((HUGS))) for the Thanksgiving blues. Holidays are hard reminders of what we once had and what we have lost, and also what’s slipping away from us. I’m always a little melancholy at this time of year — I lost both my grandparents in consecutive Octobers, 15 & 16 years ago — and I do miss my mom’s turkey & stuffing & gravy!

    I bow to you for even attempting to go sugar free, on top of everything else. I did go for 10 weeks without chocolate in my desk drawer at work at one point, a few years back, when it felt like I was allergic to everything. And then I caved, lol. What can I say, they opened a Lindt chocolate shop in First Canadian Place.

    Dh thinks I still consume way too much sugar, and I probably do (especially this week — hey, we went to Niagara on the Lake; I HAD to stop at the fudge shop…), but my intake is much less than it was when I was working.

Leave a Reply

