Microblog Mondays: Is it Monday yet?

Microblog_MondaysI’ve spent most of the week fretting about diabetes.  Googling symptoms;  when they say increased thirst, do they mean wanting a glass of water at 10pm or  do they mean drinking litres and litres of water (which I don’t)? But I should be drinking lots of water, right?  I certainly have the fatigue. But is that due to adrenal fatigue or diabetes?  And I pee a lot especially if I have coffee or tea.  I know, I know, it’s a diuretic.  See how I’m driving myself nuts?

Then again, I felt better as of Friday.  A little bit more pep to my step on my walks with the dog. For the first time, I didn’t feel like my legs were as heavy as trees.  Yet I don’t feel up to hiking more than 45 minutes.  There is another walk we could do that is an easy 5k walk, but it’s up hill.  On the other hand, I went to bed at 1am Saturday and then slept (til I had to get up and pee at 7am and then a woodpecker on my deck started up but I fell back asleep) til after 10am (Boo was overnighting it with his cousins).  That was a rare and heavenly event!  Of course, I was moody when I woke up. I felt like I had wasted the morning just trying to get going and before I knew it, those tedious things like laundry and meal preparation were waiting for me. I swear to god I wish I could just open up my freezer and see a week’s worth of healthy food all ready to go. I didn’t get much of anything done other than a nice dog walk and I made delicious curried lentil soup and even gave some to my downstairs neighbour.

Hubby and I finally got around to visiting my mum’s storage locker.  You don’t want to know how much it has cost her to keep over the last 10 years, but it always seemed to be something preventing me from actually clearing it out.  It was overwhelming and always leaves me feeling sad.  The way she had packed is so chaotic, it’s hard to separate what to keep and what to throw away.  Previously we had gone through and donated a ton of clothes, but there’s still so much more.  We need to dedicate a full 8 hour day to go through all the boxes.  What do I do with the art work (probably not worth anything), the old plastic covered furniture?  I know we will call in one of those junk companies that remove stuff for you and the rest I will ship to my sister and I will keep whatever.  That visit really brought me down and I guess it’s been on my mind.  Anyways, by the end of March, it will be done.  Now that Boo is in school, I’ll just move that up to the top of my list of crappy things to do.  I know I will feel better once it’s done.  It’s like carrying someone else’s karma in the wheelbarrow of my own.

6 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays: Is it Monday yet?

  1. I am so sorry — that task sounds so overwhelming and full of sadness. I love your last line… I hope you can finish it soon and free your wheelbarrow of that load.

  2. That sounds incredibly overwhelming- I tend to get overwhelmed by the task of clearing out my own clutter, so I have a hard time imagining how tough it must be to have to do it for a parent. It’s such a tough time of year to take on tasks like that as well- winter weather is not terrible cheerful or motivating. Wishing you lots of luck in getting it done as quickly as possible!

  3. What a powerful sentence: “It’s like carrying someone else’s karma in the wheelbarrow of my own.” I’m sorry that you have that task on your to-do list right now.

  4. (((Hugs!)))) It’s hard enough to clean up our own clutter, let alone someone else’s. And I understand the Googling symptoms… there is diabetes in my family — not my immediate family, but in the extended family — and it is something I have worried about on & off. I was worried about excessive water drinking a few months ago too — but the bloodwork from my annual checkup was fine. I finally came to realize that it’s probably because it’s winter, and the humidity in the house has been horribly low, despite running the humidifier at almost top capacity. Is it almost over??

Leave a Reply

