Microblog Mondays: Praying for Tuesday

Microblog_MondaysNo, I haven’t heard back on that callback.  Blech.  Moving on.  I have also been coughing for weeks.  Then I started hacking up discoloured phlegm.  I coughed so much that I could barely sleep.  I went to the walk in clinic and they prescribed an inhaler.  Didn’t work.  I stopped doing it and it seemed to get better, so much so that I could actually sleep.  And during the temp job it started up again and I’m hacking up half a lung and feel like crap.  Couldn’t figure it out, was it a sinus infection, allergies, asthma?  Went back to the clinic and the doctor there saw me for 45 seconds and waved me out with a requisition for a chest x ray and sputum test.

And speaking of moving on, today is my last day at that temp job.  I would have liked the first day that I started to be my last day frankly.  Not good.  Let’s say it was a challenging week.  One of a temp’s nightmares is when people actually expect you to know how to do everything perfectly – without actually showing you how to do it.  Or where things are.  Or read minds.  Took me to Thursday to figure out they actually wanted to go get the mail downstairs – there was a key in the drawer – unlabelled – much like the supply cabinets keys.  I was also responsible for doing technical things on an in house program that is industry specific. I found out eventually that the office manager, who is the owner’s wife, doesn’t have a good rapport with many people and they had been through many receptionists.  I got to know her a little bit and found out there was a softer side and so I made it my mission to just try to please her, not take her dour disposition personally.  You know, bring her water, make jokes.  Everyone has a Buddha nature right?  The agency asked me to do just one more day; the permanent person starts tomorrow.  Good luck, honey.

7 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays: Praying for Tuesday

  1. You have inspired me to look for someone’s Buddha nature. Let’s just say that’s a challenge.

    Boo on the no-callback.

    Have you tried a saline rinse? Making it part of my routine SO improved my respiratory health.

  2. I hope you feel better! And thank goodness that temp job is ending — that sounds terrible in every possible way. Good luck new person for sure! I’m sorry that you didn’t get the call-back. I hope a good opportunity is out there, waiting for you, somewhere where they don’t expect you to be psychic.

  3. My mother has all sorts of sinus issues and swears by her neti-pot. 🙂 Hope you are feeling better soon, and that a better job turns up soon as well.

Leave a Reply

