Microblog Mondays – SNOT going to stop me

Microblog_MondaysI had the cold from hell last week!  Literally I was stuffed in the head for 6 consecutive days so I’m thinking it was more like sinusitis.  I was in bed for 2 days (though me and my kleenex box did a typing job Monday night, and took the kid to school), then I dragged myself to wardrobe call, got my eyebrows done and then to the doctor’s office.  By that point I had acquired that same hacking, choking cough that robbed me of my mellifluous speaking voice and my voice was already down half an octave so my doctor told me I shouldn’t go to work.  Oh, no, I proclaimed, you don’t get it.  I am an actor who just booked her first gig of the year and I was going!  I had already dosed my body with Dayquil, Nightquil, Tylenol Cold & Sinus, oil of oregano, saline in the nose, etc.  I got the same antibiotic I used a couple weeks ago, dropped off my spit test at the lab and tried to get a good night’s rest.  Unfortunately, I either had a fever or night sweats, and was up two times trying to dry off.

The shoot day went well.  I think it was pretty obvious to everyone that I was sick  (was it the dazed expression or the hacking cough that gave it away?) but the deep, congested voice gave my female cop a bad-ass edge.  I truly felt about a step behind and the director was working very quickly and I made more mistakes than I usually do, but I got the job done and Bill even gave me an autographed picture for my kid.  (Boo found out he narrated a Curious George movie he had been watching and thought that was exciting.  Not the fact that mummy was in a movie. Nope.)  I really wanted a selfie with him but I noticed that no one was taking pics and everyone had signed a confidentiality agreement, so I didn’t ask.  I had so much fun though.  I was home to read Boo a story and then I went to bed myself.  Sure, I wish I had been PERFECT, sure I wish I hadn’t been doped up and sick, but I had such a wonderful day working.  And my brows rocked.

4 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – SNOT going to stop me

  1. I’m so glad you got there despite being sick. Wish you had been healthy, but you did it, you made it, and now all of us are looking forward to watching it.

  2. I’m glad the sickness gave your character more bad-ass edge! That’s hilarious. Silver linings, I guess! Glad the first shoot went well, and hope you can feel better for the next one.

Leave a Reply

