Microblog Mondays – Out and about

Microblog_MondaysToday was BC Day and it’s a stat holiday.  Really, it’s a made up holiday because the other provinces have one.  Or you can go for the official explanation.  However, I did find out that a good friend’s grandfather had a hand in designing BC’s provincial flag.  We usually go over to visit the in-laws, but it’s getting increasingly more expensive for us to go visit them for at couple of days.  And hubby’s brother has returned from England and is now staying with them in their small home.  Yeah, that’s a whole other story and I’m not telling it.

We’ve done a lot over the past few days.  We finally went bike riding in the Seymour Demonstration Forest.  We had a little warm up first by going the wrong way on a gravel path that was leading to a small river….downhill.  So of course, we had to go back up.  Did I mention it was a very hot day?  Anyway, we made it back to where we needed to go and had a easy and shady ride in the forest.  I loved it and I would definitely go back with the family or even on my own.  Later, I made my family go to our local splashpark to visit the local firefighters, get a balloon and hang out and enjoy the warm evening.  Next day it was off to the pool (heated) with a friend of Boo’s and I didn’t even have to go, but I went anyway.  Then we went to a farmer’s market Saturday morning (with much grumbling by hubby).  I had to really stand my ground on that one.  It’s not necessary to entertain your kid 24/7 and for once, I got to do something I wanted to do for a change.trail-image It wasn’t for a long time, and there wasn’t as much going on there as I thought there would be, but so what?  Then we went to visit my mum and we brought her to a local playground so hubby and Boo could play a bit.  She became quite agitated (cue yelling and whooping) when we arrived but by the time we got to the park, she was calm and I could see that my mum had “returned” to me for a little while. That was really great.

On Sunday, I proposed that we all go to the Pride Parade for a little while via transit.  Once again, grumbling ensued about how we would get there (via public transit), how long it would take to get there, whether we should take a bus once we got off the seabus or walk there. We had a late start that morning and hubby was certain we’d miss the whole thing.  No, not by a long shot, in fact, we left before it ended.  (We took a bus going there and walked back along the seawall on the way back to the seabus.)  That was a 10,000 step day.  And then we went to a friend’s place to gratefully eat and relax and hang out til late.  Awesome.

Finally today, another late start, but we finally got the grocery shopping done and then I took Boo over to a friend’s to hang out in their complex’s pool.  That’s twice, I’ve been in a pool in one week!  That’s a record for me.  No, I don’t swim and I don’t particularly enjoy standing around in water.  I’m basically there to make sure my kid doesn’t drown or get run over by the big kids.  But my motto this summer is if it’s free to attend, I’m in!  Summer days are flying by and I’m going to enjoy as many community events as I can!

6 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – Out and about

  1. So many wonderful activities! A holiday for any reason is always nice. 🙂 I haven’t gone swimming at all this summer…I need to find my friends with pools and mooch off of them. I’m glad your mum returned to you for a moment, it sounds like it is so difficult to see her gone, but wonderful to have a glimpse of who she really is.

  2. I had that experience with my dad, back when my kidlets were small (circa late 1990s). The feeling when they’re suddenly lucid and themselves again is indescribable. Oh, and kudos to you for summer motto!

Leave a Reply

