Microblog Mondays – Respite

Microblog_MondaysWith my sister on her way back home, Boo dropped off with his cousins for an overnight visit, and a downpour of rain, we prepared to celebrate our 14th anniversary quietly and simply.  We had talked about getting away overnight for weeks, but things happened, and my sister’s return flight kept changing, and so we just decided it was too sombre a mood to even attempt anything resembling romance.

We went out for dinner downtown at a favourite restaurant and then returned home.  Hubby ran me a bath with eucalyptus salts, candles (!) and a big fat glass of Apothic Red.  I turned on Spotify and liquidated myself in the tub.  Then when I got out, hubby handed me a pre-warmed towel and ushered me to a pre-warmed spot on the couch with a roaring fire.  We watched Kingsmen on Netflix which was a fun spy movie to get your mind off of things.

It was just what I needed.  Funny thing about my DH and I, but in times of turmoil we pull together.  Throughout all the turmoil, he has been right by my side and I knew I could count on him to have my back.  It was a great feeling and I appreciate him so much.

9 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – Respite

  1. Your husband sounds like a gem. Someone drawing a bath and pre-heating towels and seats and fireplaces!! That is my idea of romance these days – that truly sounds heavenly.

  2. That sounds like the perfect antidote to all the stress (I don’t even think “stress” accurately describes what you’ve been enduring) of recent times. What a good guy! I’m so glad you have this solid relationship to nurture you in all the turmoil.

Leave a Reply

