Microblog Mondays – Searching for Budda nature

Microblog_MondaysDid I mention my eldest sister hung up on me again?  I called her to go over the order of service.  She wanted her husband to be a pallbearer.  I told her it would not be appropriate.  That’s all I said.  I’m surprised she had the nerve to bring it up.  The truth is my mother detested her husband and though they may have gotten along now and then over the last 30 years, I know she would hate the idea.  When I told her my husband and my other sister’s husband were going to be pallbearers, she lost it, started yelling about the 3 decent human being things he did in the past 20 years and demanded that both her son (grown man I might add) and husband would do it or none at all.  That’s pretty much the position she took on the cremated remains.  Which is kind of funny…and sad.  I didn’t sleep much that night.

But I went to two Buddhist meetings yesterday.  And I’m glad I did.  My life condition was raised, I felt hope in humanity (and let’s admit it, it’s pretty hard these days with what’s going on in Paris) and best of all, I felt encouraged to not be defeated or swayed by her negativity.  First, I have to chant to get over wanting to slap the spit out of her mouth. Then I will chant for her Buddha nature.

5 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – Searching for Budda nature

  1. Ommmmmm….. (wrong faith? — but you get the idea… 😉 ) Nothing like weddings & funerals to bring out the worst in families, it seems. :p Hang in there. Hoping for a conflict-free service that honours your mother.

  2. I’m so sorry that you’re going through this. This one event will be over soon, and hopefully you can then block this negativity out – or at least not have to deal with it for a while – and find your own peaceful space.

Leave a Reply

