Microblog Mondays – Minus $$

Microblog_MondaysI’m going to tell you a little story.  A couple of weeks ago I went to the bank and took out some money out of my business account.  I was a little surprised when the receipt said I had minus $5000 and change.  Well, first of all, I knew I didn’t have that kind of money.  And then there was the issue of the MINUS part.  I had an appointment so I had to go to that but I rushed back later and went into the branch so they could explain what the hell was going on.  Seems like when I updated my debit card which was linked with my business account – and had been for 20 years or so, it was no longer linked with my business account BUT MY LINE OF CREDIT!  The one I have scheduled preauthorized payments to pay it down since I haven’t used it since IVF days.  So I was basically spending money I didn’t have.  Making sizable payments on my Visa when I probably could have paid a bit less.  The teller then reversed all the charges through my business account while I considered either screaming or hyperventilating.  Well, in the end, I didn’t have much left. My bank started charging $2 a month (for each account) for paper statements  (crazy, right?) so I elected to go online.  Perhaps I need to bite the bullet and keep the paper.

And now I’m going to segue all this money stress into Christmas time……hubby starting a new business means no steady paycheque.  Yet he’s in a much better mood so that’s something to be grateful for.   I didn’t get the part from my last audition which would have meant a decent financial finish to the end of the year, but a project I’m attached to did get funding so that’s something to look forward to.  The Christmas lights have gone up in the neighbourhood which I really enjoy; it certainly does brighten up otherwise dark streets.  I saw my mum on the weekend and brought her a poinsettia plant.  I miss her especially around this time of year, especially since she’s become confined to a wheelchair.  Ah, well, truth be known I’m always a bit out of sorts during holiday time, so the best cure is to just stay busy, bake lovely things and remember just how lucky we are.

5 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – Minus $$

  1. I would have just sat down on the floor of the bank and cried. I’m sorry you’re dealing with all of this around the holidays. Here’s to more pluses than minuses in 2015.

  2. Gotta love the banks (not). :p (I won’t ask which one, lol — they’re all the same anyway…!) 😉 Glad you got that particular screwup sorted out, even if it leaves you with less money than you thought you had. Keep calm and cookie on. (((hugs)))

Leave a comment