Microblog Mondays – Birthday edition

Oh, lawdy, getting older!  My birthday was yesterday.  With frozen shoulder and leaky bum, I’m a mum of a 6 year old.  Send wine!  Ah, but life is good.  We went to the island to see the in-laws, it was after all Father’s Day and we haven’t seen them in a long while. Hubby’s work schedule is often unpredictable with long hours, but he finally took some much needed time off.  Loathe though I am to share my birthday, I sucked it up and did it.  Hubby was wise enough to book both me and his mum to a pedicure at a lovely spa in downtown Victoria and we had a nice time.  Dang, two pedicures is 3 weeks, my feet have never looked so good!  He hadn’t seen his mum for Mother’s Day so he wanted to treat her as well.  My MIL got a free a package of flattened chicken that was marinated in rosemary and olive oil so we had that for dinner with salad.  I’d have to say that was the best chicken I’ve ever had.   Wow!  I will have to try to recreate that for myself.  Later that night, they presented me with a lovely lemon meringue cake (with scant candles thank goodness) and sang me happy birthday.  That really touched my heart more than anything.  Cake and wine, what more can a girl ask for.  Of course, I thought of my mum, who for decades would call me up and sing me Happy Birthday.  Ah, mum, still miss you.   We went to play mini golf on Sunday at a beautiful course and everyone enjoyed themselves.  I also received a gift certificate for a mani-pedi and a massage at a Thai spa so I’m looking forward to that in the near future.

And back to work for me, tons of transcribing to get done by Thursday.  Wish me luck!

9 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – Birthday edition

  1. Oh, happy happy birthday! I want to know more about this lemon meringue cake… I love lemon cakes and that sounds amazing. The chicken sounds delicious, too! What a lovely birthday.

  2. Happy birthday! It sounds like a good one even if you had to share it. Lucky you on the pedicures and massages. I’ve been wanting one for months now, and haven’t got around to it/not been able to have one. Soon, I promise myself, soon.

Leave a comment