Microblog Mondays – sweaty, cranky and well baked.

Roast turkey, two sticky toffee puddings, one apple pie, one lemon meringue, one frittata,one flourless chocolate cake – and I had one slice of each.  I kept busy and managed to keep my Christmas brooding down to a dull roar. Cocktail of the season is the Moscow Mule, which is vodka, ginger beer and lime. Spicy, sassy and definitely not sweet.  Like myself.

I missed having my mum  (and my side of the family which may be or may not be a good thing)with me on Christmas Day but that’s the way it goes.  It’s not like Mum knows what day it is anyway.  We went to see her on Boxing Day with presents and we had a great visit. Boo, hubby and even my father in law danced for her and everyone had a laugh.  It’s just tough leaving her, you know?

And now that the holiday season is just about done, I’m now acknowledging menopause season.  I woke up one night in my brand new fleece pjs sweating like crazy, I hurriedly unbuttoned, it passed, and I went back to sleep.  Alcohol really impacts hot flushes and I’ve been drinking quite a bit over the last couple of weeks, so I guess the fun is over and I’m going dry in the New Year. Two periods in one month, that’s never happened before either. No wonder I was Ms. Crabby McBroody.   All that pinging going on in my ovaries – feels like they’re saying, hey lady, we’re popping out all the old eggs at once!  Ah, the month of January is going to be interesting.

3 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – sweaty, cranky and well baked.

  1. I get my periods now every three weeks so it happens often that it’s here twice in one month. It does feel like my body is dumping them in an effort to move on. My ovaries suck.

    I’m sorry about your mum. I have to imagine the heightened emotions of Christmas make seeing her that much harder around this time.

  2. Aunt Flo still visits more or less like clockwork — including while I was at my parents’ house over Christmas. I said to my mother, “I am nearly FIFTY-FOUR YEARS OLD. How long is this going to go on??” She said she was 54 or 55 when it finally stopped for her — so if genetics means anything…. Oy. :p Pass the wine, please. 😉

Leave a comment