Microblog Mondays – March break mess

Microblog_MondaysI survived March break…barely.  2 weeks!  Seriously?!  The first week pretty good, everyone slept in because of the time change and Boo and I enjoyed a nice bike ride along the beach on the west side with a couple of mums and their kids.  The weather was great.  It was such a nice break from the monotony of the school week routine. I also had my inlaws visit for 3 days.  I did have to work 2 out of the 3 evenings but I made pot roast (meh) and vegetarian shepherd’s pie (didn’t tell them), plus a red velvet cake and dietetic apple crumble ahead of time. At the end of the week, Boo had a chance to spend some time with his cousins and have a sleepover and he really enjoyed himself.

The 2nd week was looooong.  Boo was in a gymnastics spring break camp but I had missed the morning spots (enrolling your child in activities takes cat like reflexes apparently) and so he was occupied for 3 hours in the afternoon.  Unfortunately this precluded arranging play dates as our mornings were slow to start and the dog had to be walked and then back for lunch (or rather arguing about eating lunch) before the class and then back home because hubby was working nights on set and Boo wanted to spend time with him before he left.  Oh, and did I mention while roughhousing, he lost one of his bottom teeth and the other one came out the next day?  I had to fake not being nauseous.  (I have such a tooth phobia. Ugh.)  Also I spent most mornings wrangling a tornado kid so he wouldn’t disturb his sleeping dad (that didn’t really work).  I also had two auditions that I had to get ready for, drive to and then get back across the bridge by pickup time.  I started to have flashbacks of being my former self 24/7 mum who raced through the preschool hours trying to get stuff done existing solely on coffee and snack bars.  It was not pretty. The dog had to get walked, the kid had to be entertained every waking moment he was with me, I’m running back and forth playing with him and trying to make dinner (no, 2 dinners, as he wanted only mac and cheese).  I only made it twice to the gym in 2 weeks.  A friend of mine sent me a link to do an Oprah/Deepak Chopra 21 meditation journey.   Ahahahah!

Best moment:  playing the tooth fairy 2 times.  I had to dig under Boo’s pillow and his big heavy head to get the tooth and replace it with a toonie ($2). He asked me the next day why I was trying to get into his pillow.  “I opened my eyes and I saw you but you didn’t see me.” “I was just checking to see if the Tooth Fairy had been there.  By the way, I smelled flowers last night, did you smell them?  It was like roses.”  “It was the Tooth Fairy!”

Priceless.

9 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – March break mess

  1. Two weeks! Brutal. We only have a one week break here. And that was tough. Having an only child can be a tremendous amount of work when school is out, can’t it? Kinda makes me dread the summer!!!

    I love, love, LOVE the toothfairy story! Amelia hasn’t started losing teeth yet- I can hardly wait! Though I don’t have a tooth aversion (only an aversion to cutting toenails… gross!).

    Oh- and I only got to the gym once last week. It’s tough to fit it all in!!!

  2. You’re a good and clever tooth fairy.

    I second you on cat-like reflexes. Swim lesson registration began at 6 am. At 6:05, we were locked out of spots!

  3. Many parts of my kid’s childhoods I miss. Some, I don’t. School breaks were the worst in trying to coordinate activities.. I’m pleased you survived with your wit and humor intact.

  4. I’m tooth-phobic, like you. Not once it’s pulled, but the pulling part. Husband willingly takes that on, and I remember to stay up and do Tooth Fairy duty.

    I hope the auditions went well!

Leave a comment