Archive | August 24, 2015

Microblog Mondays – Busy Beaver

Microblog_MondaysOh, boy, I was a busy little beaver there for a while.  I could not participate in last week’s Microblog Monday because I was busy transcribing.  I did about 46 hours in 10 days (30 hrs in 4 days).  I did tell them I needed 2 weeks only to be told they needed it sooner rather than later.  Of course.  Just when I had a busy weekend lined up.

The 14th was my mum’s 80th birthday.  For those in the know, I put a video of her on Facebook.  It was terrific to see her connect for a little while.  She looked right at me and told me, “This is a nice birthday.”  That’s a big deal to me.  We sang happy birthday to her and I know she enjoyed our visit.  I just wish my side of the family could have been there for her.  My younger sister sent flowers and of course, my older sister sent nothing.  I wish I could have done more, I wish it could have been a big deal, but it was what it was.

And then….I had a visit from a good friend, Anna.  Luckily she came the day after I finished my massive typing job.   She used to have a blog and that is where I go to know this awesome woman.  Her long awaited son was born the same month as mine.  I see her once a year when she heads out west to visit family.  And I get to see her blue eyed boy.  Wow, it always amazes me that I knew him when he was just a wish and now he is 5 years old and talking Minecraft with my kid.  It was crazy, they were instant buddies.  Our visit was hastily arranged so of course, that’s the day I have a doctor’s appointment in the morning in the city and I have an audition at the height of rush hour.  We squeeze in a quick visit to Lynn Canyon suspension bridge.  That poor woman, what I put her through!  She was a bit hesitant about going across but her brave child leads her across the jiggly rope bridge and I manage to find a semi quiet place by the rocks and creek for a few minutes of peace.  I wish I could have kept them there for more time with a picnic, but I had to go downtown again for an audition.  I seriously would have blown it off had it not been a really decent role.

Anna graciously agreed to hang out at my house with my kid so I could go to my audition.  I figured I’d be an hour tops.  Well, once in the car, I discover the 2nd Narrows bridge was massively backed up because of stalled vehicle and the other was backed up because of another stall AND a 4.5 centimetre construction plate that spans the width of the bridge that causes all traffic to slow down to a crawl.    I call my agent to let her know (via Bluetooth) and then I just sit in traffic working on my lines.  It was probably the most zen I’ve been going to an audition in a long time.  I end up being 40 minutes late.  I finally get there and breathe for a few minutes before I go in.  It was a producer/director session so at least I know I had my shot at it.  I only got to do it once, which you could either say I nailed it or they weren’t really interested.  (It’s been about a week, so I’ve let it go already.)  When I return, Anna’s husband had arrived to whisk them away to dinner but I insist on hijacking one more hour with them and force them to eat at one of those family eating places that I like only because it serves wine.  She’s such an awesome woman, I get pissed that she’s not my neighbour and I can’t hang out with her more. Oh, how I’d love to sit in her kitchen!   She’s just so real, and she feels stuff without pushing it away. I envy that ability because it is so rare in people these days.    And to do that when you’re tired because she just wanted to see me.  I’m lucky, right? Yeah, I know.

To borrow Anna’s saying, we’re sucking the marrow out of summer, so I’m off!